My Journey Towards Becoming an Extended Reality (XR) Engineer

The XR space interests me, so I want to explore it. Since I have a passion for programming, I want to join the engineers working to develop XR technology that will make our lives better. The potential of XR in education and healthcare is undeniable.

XR can be used in education to foster immersive learning and improve classroom interaction. Along with its popular application in surgical operations, XR can have extensive applications in psychotherapy beyond what is currently available. As with any technology, the use of XR in education or healthcare poses challenges in terms of autonomy.

Like media and animation, will XR see a surge of DIY (Do It Yourself) technologies? Will it be possible for a teacher or therapist to customize the content according to the needs of her students or clients?

When time and attention are given, anything is possible. To answer the questions above, I have started taking courses on designing and developing XR applications as part of my efforts to become an XR engineer. My blog posts will discuss XR concepts and technologies as a means of consolidating and documenting my knowledge.

I would appreciate it if you liked, shared, and commented on my posts. I would love to hear from you if you are passionate about XR like I am, or if you know someone who is already working in XR. It would be a pleasure to hear from you.

Best wishes!